How to turn a PNG file into a digital stamp

Here is a little tutorial for turning a PNG file into a digital element in PSE. Maybe there is an easier way, but this is how I figured it out and wanted to pass it along.
Click on each image to make it larger and it will show each step.
open a new file
Screen Shot 2013-01-24 at 8.27.39 AM
look for your downloaded PNG file
Screen Shot 2013-01-24 at 8.27.52 AM

Screen Shot 2013-01-24 at 8.28.00 AM
it will open in a new window
Screen Shot 2013-01-24 at 8.28.07 AM
under the edit tab, click define brush
Screen Shot 2013-01-24 at 8.28.13 AM
i leave it titled as is, you can change it if you want
Screen Shot 2013-01-24 at 8.28.17 AM
there is your brush!
Screen Shot 2013-01-24 at 8.28.23 AM
then you can open up your photo and apply, change the color, the opacity, just have fun!
Screen Shot 2013-01-24 at 8.29.03 AM
I hope that helps and please feel free to ask me any questions!

5 thoughts on “How to turn a PNG file into a digital stamp

  1. Wow, that’s really nice; I don’t have Photoshop; I sue wish I did. I Pinned this, tho, because I’m planning on getting it real soon! Thanks for sharing!! 🙂

  2. Thanks, Ginny! That works great in regular Photoshop too — I just tried it. It saved the brush in the brush file I already had open, so next time I’ll take note of what file I have open when I save it.

  3. Thanks Ginny! Very cool! I would love it if you would post a tutorial on doing the “chalkboard” look. I got some elements from DD, but I don’t really get how to make my own. The ones you posted in the Day by Day gallery over at SC are amazing! Thanks for considering it, and thanks again for sharing this tutorial!

Leave a Reply

